Nettle-Eater | Coyopa

I was seeking something unknown, unknowable. I knew the names of it – I had read a thousand books describing it – but the beast itself roamed out beyond the edge and in the deep centre of things. Yes, in the Fire of fire and the Water of water. Eventually, I knew. I had to let myself become so mad that to be in civilisation would destroy me, so feral and lost and essential that only the wildest places of moor could sustain me. I walked up the long hill into the wild of nettles and ignored the screaming animals of my addictions and dreams and desires. Civilisation fell off my back like dust and lies – I felt as if I’d been hunched against a wind all my life, my fists clenched, my eyes screwed tight. Now, the moor and the nettles and my madness told me: enough.

via Nettle-Eater | Coyopa. (follow link for full text)

Leave a Reply

