The Powers and Perils of Intuition

“Intuition is bigger than we realize. It feeds our expertise, creativity, love and spirituality. It is a wonder. But it’s also perilous. Today’s cognitive science aims not to destroy intuition but to fortify it, to sharpen our thinking and deepen our wisdom. Scientists who expose intuition’s flaws note that it works well in some areas, but needs restraints and checks in others. In realms from sports to business to spirituality, we now understand how perilous intuitions often go before a fall, and how we can therefore think smarter, even while listening to the creative whispers of our unseen mind.”

 

http://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200212/the-powers-and-perils-intuition

2 thoughts on “The Powers and Perils of Intuition”

  1. I suppose that Aristotle’s Middle Way applies of going forward with a mix of intuition and whatever the other type of reasoning is that the linked article is promoting. I value intuition highly, I tend to mistrust those that attack it.

    Like

  2. It’s a tricky one, this! I also value intuition highly – it’s an area that fascinates me, and I’m always drawn to discussions on the subject. There’s an author from Liverpool named Anthony Peake who has been exploring the ancient theory of the Daemon, and has added a new elelment to the mix that involves, among many other elements, the Eternal Return theory ..too much to go into in a short reply, but heavily related to instinct, deja vu, an inner voice, and synchronicities.

    I personally see the example they gave of the pilot in that article, trusting the human decision over his instruments, as an error based on bad judgement rather than faulty intuition.

    I suppose the reason why I posted the link to that article is because there are some people who go a bit too far. Maybe you don’t know anyone who does that, but I’ve come across some people who are downright dangerous in the claims they make as being down to their intuition, and trying to impose their will on others. It’s a fine line between intuition and wishful thinking for some people.

    When I’m reading the tarot, I use a mix of the ‘meaning’ of the card, but always with an element of something that stems from the same source as my own ‘intuition’. When I’m reading for people I don’t know, it’s easier to do that because I have no idea of their lives, so I’m not subconsciously drawing on knowledge of the person. This, for me, is an example of that middle ground; knowledge of one thing but being aware of ‘something else’. People who know tarot might then say to me, ‘but that’s not what that card means’, so I make sure that I tell them I’m just being made aware of a certain angle. It’s like I have no choice, even over certain words that I use! That might not be the best example but it’s all I could think of try to explain what I mean!

    It’s a fascinating area for discussion 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

